In most cases, you will locate jitems for your research by using tools called research databases -- large, electronic collections of references for books, articles, reports etc. of many different types and on many different topics, put in one place where you can search the whole collection.
Unlike Google, which reads every word in every page of every document from beginning to end, some of our research databases can usually only see basic information about articles or books -- the titles, summaries, and maybe some subject keywords. This is why searching for sentences or entire phrases works in Google but not in the library resources.
A library database is an online searchable collection of information. Libraries buy subscriptions to databases so learners (like you!) can find useful and interesting information.
The library databases we subscribe to are specific to the academic programs offered on our campus. Students, faculty, and staff can use our library databases to find research and information on a variety of topics. Each database is made up of specific publications like academic journals and magazines that make up what sort of information can be found in that database. Each source of information is organized and indexed by subject terms and keywords based on what the source is about.
You may be thinking to yourself "Is a library database the same thing as Google?" Yes and no...
Search engines, such as Google, search the web for freely available information. Google can be considered a database since it contains a collection of searchable information. Just like a library database, Google contains tons of information but the information is a little different. Information can include:
Library databases contain really specific information that are meant to support your education and coursework at ECA. Google contains all sorts of information which makes it a good place to start your research, but don't stop your research process there.
When you search for something in Google you get thousands of results. Some of which are sponsored or promotional results - meaning a company is paying Google to promote their information/service. You may also notice that Google sometimes gives you different results. That is because Google uses algorithms (computer programs) to sort through information based on your location and your recent search activity. Check out Google's information page about the algorithms they use. Library databases don't do that. Since all the information found in a library database is organized by subject terms and keywords, library databases uses the keywords you put into the search bar to find you information.
Most research databases are searchable collections of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Each database contains thousands of articles published in many different journals, allowing you find relevant articles faster than you would by searching individual journals. Some databases provide the full text of articles. Others provide abstracts, or summaries, only.
Searching a Research database is different from searching the Internet.
| Internet | Database | |
|---|---|---|
| Examples | Google, Wikipedia | One Business, Informit, ERIC, SAGE |
| Authority/Credentials | Anyone can publish and anyone does. Difficult to verify credentials. Results are not always scholarly. | Authority/credentials are guaranteed. Most articles are scholarly and peer-reviewed. |
| Results | Thousands. Duplicates are not filtered out. Many are not scholarly. | Hundreds or fewer. Duplicates are filtered out. You can limit to full text. |
| Relevance | Lots of "noise" because there are no subject headings assigned. Information can be biased, untrue, or irrelevant. | Databases focus on specific subjects. Offer fewer but more relevant results. Results are from scholarly publishers and authors. |
| Limiters | Can limit by document type (pdf, doc) and source (gov, org, com) | Can limit by date, language, format, peer reviewed status, full text availability, and more. |
| Stability of information | Information from the Internet is unstable. It can disappear at any time. Researchers will often be asked to pay a fee to access journal articles. (Note: These articles are available to you via the Library as part of your tuition.) | Databases are a collection of articles that have appeared in journals. This makes their status more stable than the Internet. The information is paid for by subscription to be offered as part of a student’s tuition. |
The Library Help Centre is here to help!
We offer in-person and online appointments, remote assistance via email, chat or Zoom.
The library staff can also assist with with using library databases, how-to search for scholarly materials, copyright and fair use and referencing.