This page will help you find resources on the topic of Research Methods.
We recommend starting with this curated collection on our A-Z Databases page.
Find the most recent (last five years) Research Methods resources in the library in the following formats. You can use these basic searches as a start and refine them more to suit your topic.
Also look at The Study Skills Handbook, specifically pages 349 -372. There is some useful information for you that is pretty user friendly focussing on ‘how to write’.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials (OER Textbooks)
Also look at the National Health and Medical Research Council, the Australian Research Council and Universities Australia, Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research 2018 where you can download a copy.
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)
Another dedicated academic search engine, BASE offers access to more than 140 million documents from more than 6,000 sources. Around 60% of these documents are open access, and you can filter results to see only research that is available for free online.
CORE CORE is an open research aggregator. This means it works as a search engine for open access research published by organisations from around the world, all of which is available for free.
Semantic Scholar
Semantic Scholar is an ‘intelligent’ academic search engine. It uses machine learning to prioritise the most important research, which can make it easier to find relevant literature. Or, in Semantic Scholar’s own words, it uses influential citations, images and key phrases to ‘cut through the clutter’.
WorldWideScience
WorldWideScience is a global academic search engine, providing access to national and international scientific databases from across the globe. One interesting feature is that it offers automatic translation, so users can have search results translated into their preferred language.
1. Social Media & Research Ethics (22 mins, 57 secs)
2. Research Ethics Working with Children (4 mins, 50 secs)
3. Conducting Research with Young People (2 mins, 2 secs)
PubMed: Building a Search
A large range of current and historic Australian newspapers in digital format can be directly accessed online via Trove and the eResources portal.
Trove's digitised Australian newspapers provides numerous historical Australian newspapers published between 1803 to 1954. It includes national titles as well as those published in each Australian state and territory. It supports browsing by title, date and location as well as searches. Articles and pages can be printed and downloaded and citations are provided.
The Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program (ANDP) has the long-term objective of making as many Australian newspapers as possible published prior to 1955 freely available online through Trove.
Trove Library's eResources portal provide listings to free media websites as well as our subscription digital resources. Some of these resources can be accessed from home or work by Australian residents who are registered readers of the Library. These can be identified in eResources by the use of the 'key' symbol and include:
You can access these databases by visiting the eResources portal and clicking the Browse eResources tab.
There are also some databases that you can only access at the National Library.Click the link for more information and to view the full list of available databases.
ProQuest One Business includes full text content from over 130 newspapers plus hundreds of wire feeds, allowing users to understand the wider context of their studies. Additionally, it provides access to the full text of three major global business news sources: the Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times.
Hows does ProQuest One Business support students' research?
Newspapers support business students' research by providing:
Overall, newspapers are a rich resource for practical information and real-world examples that complement theoretical studies and enhance research skills.
