Applied research “aims at finding a solution for an immediate problem facing a society, or an industrial/business organisation, whereas fundamental research is mainly concerned with generalisations and with the formulation of a theory”[1]. Applied research is considered to be non-systematic inquiry and it is usually launched by a company, agency or an individual in order to address a specific problem.[2]
Applied research can be divided into the following three categories:
1. Evaluation research. This type of research focuses on analysing existing information about the phenomenon in order to generate objective research outcomes. A study into the ways of reducing supply-chain costs can be mentioned as an example for an evaluation research.
2. Research and Development. It is a type of applied research that focuses on the development of new products and services to satisfy needs and wants of target customer segment. This type of applied research is the least relevant to a business dissertation.
3. Action research. This type of study aims to tackle specific business problems. For example, a research into the ways of restoring Starbucks brand image in UK after the tax scandal can be classified as an action research.
The difference between applied and fundamental or basic research is straightforward – findings of applied research can be applied to resolve problems, whereas fundamental studies are used simply to explore certain issues and elements. Applied research can be a follow-up to the findings of a fundamental research.
Moreover, differences between applied and basic research can be summarized into three points:
1. Differences in purpose. Purpose of applied studies is closely associated with the solution of specific problems, while the purpose of fundamental studies relate to creation of new knowledge or expansion of the current knowledge without any concerns to applicability.
2. Differences in context. In applied studies, research objectives are set by clients or sponsors as a solution to specific problems they are facing. Fundamental studies, on the other hand, are usually self-initiated in order to expand the levels of knowledge in certain areas.
3. Differences in methods. Research validity is an important point to be addressed in all types of studies. Nevertheless, applied studies are usually more concerned with external validity, whereas internal validity can be specified as the main point of concern for fundamental researchers.
The following are examples for applied research. You can notice that each of these studies aim to resolve a specific and an immediate problem.
The advantages and disadvantages of applied and fundamental research mirror and contrast each other. On the positive side, applied research can be helpful in solving specific problems in business and other settings.
On the negative side, findings of applied research cannot be usually generalized. In other words, applicability of the new knowledge generated as a result of this type of research is limited to the research problem. Moreover, applied studies usually have tight deadlines which are not flexible.
You need to specify the type of your research in the earlier part of the research methodology chapter in about one short paragraph. Also, in this paragraph you will have to justify your choice of research type.
John Dudovskiy - The Ultimate Guide to Writing a Dissertation in Business Studies: a step by step assistance
[1] Kothari, C.R. (2008) “Research Methodology: Methods and Techniques” New Age International
[2] Bajpai, N. (2011) “Business Research Methods” Pearson Education India
Quantitative Research gathers numerical data which can be ranked, measured or categorised through statistical analysis. It assists with uncovering patterns or relationships, and for making generalisations. This type of research is useful for finding out how many, how much, how often, or to what extent.
General strategies for finding quantitative research
When searching for Quantitative Research it is important that you search across a range of databases, as no single database covers all the literature. The decision regarding which databases to search depends largely upon your research topic. Journal databases also provide search hints and tips in the help menu - start there if you aren't familiar with the database.
Developing a robust search strategy will help reduce irrelevant results. It is good practice to plan a strategy before you start to search.
Qualitative Research gathers data about lived experiences, emotions or behaviours, and the meanings individuals attach to them. It assists in enabling researchers to gain a better understanding of complex concepts, social interactions or cultural phenomena. This type of research is useful in the exploration of how or why things have occurred, interpreting events and describing actions.
General strategies
When searching for qualitative research it is important that you search across a range of databases, as no single database covers all the literature. The decision regarding which databases to search depends largely upon your research topic. Journal databases also provide search hints and tips in the help menu - start there if you are not familiar with the database.
Developing a robust search strategy will help reduce irrelevant results. It is good practice to plan a strategy before you start to search.
Mixed Methods Research integrates both Qualitative and Quantitative Research. It provides a holistic approach combining and analysing the statistical data with deeper contextualised insights. Using Mixed Methods also enables Triangulation, or verification, of the data from two or more sources.
Finding Mixed Methods research in the Databases
“mixed model*” OR “mixed design*” OR “multiple method*” OR multimethod* OR triangulat*
CINAHL Open Access Journals - the following Subject Headings may be of use: Multimethod Studies or Triangulation. You can also include in your search the following fSageree text keywords: mixed model*, mixed design*, multiple method*, multimethod*, or triangulat*.What is a Literature Review?
A literature review is different to an essay. It provides a snapshot of what we know about the research on a particular topic. The author is required to do a comprehensive search of relevant and recent literature (journal articles, text books, websites) to identify what is known about a topic. The main themes are then identified and crtically analysed. A literature review should cover:
Learning Statistics with Jamovi : a tutorial for beginners in statistical analysiis
by
The Palgrave Handbook of Research Design in Business and Management
by
Research Design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches
by
Understanding Research Methods
by
Quantitative Research
Quantitative research involves collecting and analysing numerical data to identify patterns, test hypotheses, and conclude populations or phenomena. Here are several key examples and types of quantitative research, along with specific use cases:
Descriptive Research
This approach aims to describe the characteristics of a population or phenomenon. For example, a study that measures the prevalence of mental health disorders in a specific demographic group or tracks the average age of first-time home buyers in a city1.
Survey Research
Surveys use structured questionnaires with closed-ended questions (such as multiple choice or Likert scales) to collect quantifiable data from a sample. Common examples include:
Correlational Research
This method examines relationships between two or more variables without manipulating them. For instance:
Experimental Research
In these studies, researchers manipulate one or more independent variables to observe effects on dependent variables, often with random assignment to groups. Examples include:
Testing the effectiveness of a new medication versus a placebo in a clinical trial.
Assessing the impact of a new teaching method on student test scores.
Quasi-Experimental and Causal-Comparative Research
Similar to experimental design but without random assignment. Examples:
Healthcare: Measuring the average wait time for patients in a hospital and analysing factors that affect it (e.g., time of day, department)6.
Government: Census data collection to determine population demographics and trends.
Business: Analysing the number of website visits, sales figures, or customer ratings to inform business decisions.
Education: Using standardised test scores to compare academic achievement across schools or districts.
Qualitative research explores complex phenomena through non-numerical data, focusing on understanding experiences, meanings, and perspectives. Here are prominent examples and types of qualitative research, with practical illustrations:
One-on-One Interviews
Researchers conduct in-depth, open-ended interviews to gather detailed personal insights.
Example: Interviewing patients to understand their experiences with a new healthcare program or why a product failed to meet expectations.
Focus Groups
Small groups discuss a topic, allowing researchers to observe group dynamics and collective perspectives.
Ethnographic Research
Researchers immerse themselves in participants’ environments to observe behaviours and cultural practices.
Example: Observing daily routines in a remote village to understand local traditions or studying workplace culture in a tech startup.
Case Study Research
In-depth study of a single case (an individual, group, or organisation) to explore complex issues in real-life contexts.
Example: Analysing a specific school’s innovative teaching method or following a patient’s medical treatment over several years.
Narrative Research
Collecting and analysing stories to understand how individuals make sense of their experiences.
Phenomenological Research
Investigating the lived experiences of individuals regarding a specific phenomenon.
Grounded Theory
Systematically gathering and analysing data to develop theories grounded in real-world observations.
Example: Interviewing employees to develop a theory about workplace motivation.
Historical Research
Examining past events and documents to understand their causes and impacts.
Example: Analysing archival records to study the evolution of educational policies.
Qualitative Observation
Systematic observation of behaviours and interactions, often in natural settings.
Example: Watching how customers interact with product displays in a store to assess browsing behaviors.
Mixed-method research combines both quantitative (numerical) and qualitative (descriptive) approaches within a single study to provide a more comprehensive understanding of a research problem. Here are several concrete examples and common designs:
Convergent Parallel Design
Researchers collect quantitative and qualitative data simultaneously, analyse them separately, and then compare or combine the results.
Explanatory Sequential Design
Quantitative data is collected and analysed first, followed by qualitative data to explain or elaborate on the quantitative findings.
Example: A study on exercise and mental health might begin with a survey measuring physical activity levels and mental health status (quantitative), then follow up with interviews to explore participants’ personal experiences and perceptions of how exercise affects their mental health.
Exploratory Sequential Design
Qualitative data is collected and analysed first to explore a topic or develop hypotheses, followed by quantitative data to test or generalise the findings.
Example: Interviewing parents about their interactions with children to identify key themes (qualitative), then designing a survey to measure how common these behaviours are in a larger population (quantitative).
Embedded Design
One type of data (qualitative or quantitative) is embedded within a larger study of the other type, often to supplement or provide context.
Example: In a clinical trial testing a new medication (quantitative), researchers might include open-ended questions or interviews with participants to gather feedback on their experiences with the treatment (qualitative).
Case Study with Mixed Methods
An in-depth investigation of a single case (such as a business or school) using both quantitative (e.g., performance metrics) and qualitative (e.g., interviews, observations) data.
Example: Studying an organisation’s culture by analysing employee satisfaction survey data (quantitative) and conducting focus groups to explore underlying workplace dynamics (qualitative).
Participatory Mixed Methods
Participants are actively involved in developing research questions, collecting data, and analysing it using both qualitative and quantitative methods.
Example: Forming focus groups where participants help design surveys and provide feedback throughout the research process.
Quantitative Research
Qualitative Research
Mixed-methods Research
Ali, A., Varma, U., & Pandya, S. (2024). Qualitative vs quantitative: the difference in the key sections of doctoral dissertations-a comparative analysis and a summary of findings. International Journal of Doctoral Studies, 19. https://ijds.org/Volume19/IJDSv19Art007Ali10588.pdf
Quantitative Research
Qualitative Research
Mixed Methods Research
Quantitative Research
Sloan, L. (Academic). (2016). Studying quantitative methods [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781473963238
Banerjee, P. A. (Academic). (2023). Conducting qualitative research with pallavi banerjee [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781529629088
Qualitative Research
Henry, M. (Academic). (2015). Qualitative research and ethnography [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781473930117
Hein, W. (Academic). (2020). Top tips for conducting qualitative research [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781529730708
Mixed Methods Research
Bazeley, P. (Academics). (2015). Mixed methods research [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781473930100
Creswell, J. W. (Academic). (2011). When should i choose a mixed methods approach? [Video]. Sage Research Methods. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412993722
