Plan your Search

Australian newspapers research guide

A large range of current and historic Australian newspapers in digital format can be directly accessed online via Trove and the eResources portal.

Trove

Trove's digitised Australian newspapers provides numerous historical Australian newspapers published between 1803 to 1954. It includes national titles as well as those published in each Australian state and territory. It supports browsing by title, date and location as well as searches. Articles and pages can be printed and downloaded and citations are provided.

The Australian Newspaper Digitisation Program (ANDP) has the long-term objective of making as many Australian newspapers as possible published prior to 1955 freely available online through Trove.

eResources

Trove Library's eResources portal provide listings to free media websites as well as our subscription digital resources. Some of these resources can be accessed from home or work by Australian residents who are registered readers of the Library. These can be identified in eResources by the use of the 'key' symbol and include:

• Newsbank: Access Global is a collection of full text newspapers from over 170 countries. There are over 600 Australian newspaper titles at all levels and include The Australian, The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Land and The Daily Telegraph.
• PressReader provides access to over 1000 newspapers in 40 languages from more than 80 countries including Australia. Coverage is provided for the last 3 months only.
• Sydney Morning Herald Archives 1955-1995 provides full-text coverage to every edition of The Sydney Morning Herald and The Sun-Herald between January 1st, 1955 and February 2nd, 1995. The Archives are available offsite for registered National Library readers.
• The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age : library edition provides complete digital editions of each paper from 2006 to date.

You can access these databases by visiting the eResources portal and clicking the Browse eResources tab.

There are also some databases that you can only access at the National Library.Click the link for more information and to view the full list of available databases.

ProQuest One Business

ProQuest One Business includes full text content from over 130 newspapers plus hundreds of wire feeds, allowing users to understand the wider context of their studies. ​ Additionally, it provides access to the full text of three major global business news sources: the Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times. ​

Hows does ProQuest One Business support students' research?

Newspapers support business students' research by providing:

1. Current Information: Newspapers offer up-to-date news and developments in the business world, helping students stay informed about the latest trends, events, and market changes. ​
2. Contextual Understanding: They provide context for academic studies by covering real-world business scenarios, economic conditions, and industry-specific news. ​
3. Case Studies: Articles often include case studies and examples of business strategies, successes, and failures, which can be valuable for learning and analysis. ​
4. Market Insights: Newspapers feature market reports, financial news, and economic forecasts that are crucial for understanding market dynamics and making informed decisions. ​
5. Expert Opinions: They include opinions and analyses from industry experts, which can help students gain diverse perspectives on business issues.
6. Global Perspective: Access to international newspapers like the Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times provides a global view of business activities and trends. ​

Overall, newspapers are a rich resource for practical information and real-world examples that complement theoretical studies and enhance research skills.